

SACME HISTORY

SACME MILESTONES

PAST PRESIDENTS

EARLY SACME HISTORY

SACME Milestones

- 1976 SACME established on April 2 as the Society of Medical College Directors of Continuing Medical Education (SMCDCME)
- 1981
 <u>First issue of Möbius</u> published (Lucy Ann Geiselman, Editor)
 - Research Committee formed (Harold Paul, Chair)
- 1982
 - First survey of Society members (Richard L. Moore)
 - First call for research papers (Nancy Bennett)
- 1984

Support of the Research and Development Resource Base in CME by the Society (Dave Davis)

RICME I, Research in Continuing Medical Education (David Gullion, Lucy Ann Geiselman, Chairs)

Training of Society interviewers for "The Change Study"

- 1985
 - Change Study interviews total 200
- 1986-1988
 - Search for a Society logo
- 1986 RICME II (Dave Davis, Chair)
- 1987
 First issue of INTERCOM published in January (Harold Paul, Dene Murray, Editors)
 Joint plenary session CME/SMCDCME: highlights of the Change Study
- 1988

RICME III (John Parboosingh, Jocelyn Lockyer, Chairs)



First Congress on CME (Phil R. Manning, Chair) First honorary member of the Society (Cyril Houle) Title change from Mobius to JCEHP With v. 8 (1) Möbius becomes The Journal of Continuing Education in the Health **Professions** Development of first membership brochure (Harold Paul, Dene Murray, and others)

1989

Change study published (Robert Fox, Paul Mazmanian, R.Wayne Putnam, Editors)

Changing and Learning in the Lives of Physicians

Strategic plan for the Society (George Smith)

Membership in the Council of Academic Societies (James Leist, Dale Dauphinee) 1990

First meeting of the "Armadillo Society" (Past Presidents) This group [of Past Presidents] first convened in San Antonio on the morning following an evening's socializing at a nearby ranch where armadillos and armadillo racing entertained guests. One of the Past-Presidents suggested the group be called the "Armadillo Society," out of regard for the relative sluggishness and unimportance of its members. The aptness of that name found immediate approval and the group has enjoyed continued existence. Although having no formal status, no authority, and no documented evidence of effectiveness, the anecdotal self-testimony to its diffuse benefit continues to cheer the aging members. -- from Caplan 1996, p. 9 **RICME IV (Nancy Bennett, Chair)**

1991

Tri-Group leadership formalized (ACME, AHME, SMCDCME) Foundation for research established (James Leist) First Distinguished Service Award (Malcolm Watts)

1992

JCEHP reorganized (James Leist) Third Congress on CME (George Smith, Chair) SMCDCME incorporated (George Smith and Robert Kristofco) New JCEHP editor appointed (William Felch) Society home established at AAMC (Brownell Anderson) Position paper presented: The Role of Continuing Medical Education in Academic Health Centers (William Easterling) 1993 Distinguished Service Award (Phil Manning) Research Award (Dave Davis)

CME Glossary (Joe D'Angelo)

First Society brochure competition (Susan Duncan)

New member orientation established at Spring Meeting (Deborah Holmes)



1994

Distinguished Service Award (Julian S. Reinschmidt) Research Award (Robert Fox)

Research Endowment Council established (Brian O'Toole)

Task force white paper, *The connection between continuing medical education and health care reform* (George Smith, Gloria Allington)

- **1995**
 - Request from AAMC for statement on CME

- Reorganization of AAMC's Group on Educational Affairs (GEA), with continuing education one of four sections

- Pew-Glaxo Working Group on the Future of Academic CME Research Award established (Jocelyn Lockyer, Recipient)

- Distinguished Service Award (Martin Shickman)

- Report of Society working group on ACCME essentials and standards, Future directions for medical college continuing medical education (Arnie Bigbee, Chair)

- Request from ACCME for SACME accreditation surveyors

1996

Four Society task forces and focus groups address the task force report when the Society was invited to participate in the restructuring of the ACCME

1997

SMCDCME listserv established by Bob Bollinger

1998

July 20, SMCDCME re-named the Society for Academic Continuing Medical Education (SACME)

- **1999**
 - SACME web site created by Bob Bollinger
- 2016 SACME organizes "World Congress"

SACME PAST PRESIDENTS

2024-2025

Kimberly D. Northrip, MD, MPH, University of Kentucky Healthcare CECentral

2022-2023

David Wiljer, PhD, University of Toronto

2020-2021

Betsy Williams, PhD, MPH, FSACME, University of Kansas School of Medicine

2018-2019

William Rayburn, MD, MBA, FSACME, Medical University of South Carolina



2016-2017

Ajit Sachdeva, MD, FACS, FRCSE, FSACME, American College of Surgeons

2015

Mary Turco, EdD, Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth

2014

Ginny Jacobs, M.Ed., MLS, CHCP, University of Minnesota Medical School

2013

Deborah Samuel, MBA, American Academy of Pediatrics

2012

Pam McFadden, University of North Texas Health Science Center Gordon West, PhD, Annenberg Center for Health Sciences at Eisenhower

2011

Gabrielle Kane, MB, EdD, FRCPC, University of Washington School of Medicine

2010

Todd Dorman, MD, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

2009

Lois Colburn, University of Nebraska Medical Center

2008

Melinda Steele, MEd; Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

2007

Jocelyn Lockyer, PhD; University of Calgary

2006

Michael Fordis, MD; Baylor College of Medicine

2005

Martyn O. Hotvedt, PhD

2004

Craig M. Campbell, MD; Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada/ Le Collège royale des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada

2003

Nancy Davis, PhD; American Academy of Family Physicians



2002

John R. Kues, PhD; University of Cincinnati

2001

Barbara E. Barnes, MD; University of Pittsburgh

2000

Paul J. Lambiase; University of Rochester

1999

John T. Parboosingh, MD; University of Ottawa

1998

Meryl H. Haber, MD; Rush Presbyterian, St. Lukes Medical Center

1997

David Davis, MD; University of Toronto

1996

William E. Easterling, Jr., MD; University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

1995

Gloria Allington, MSEd; University of Miami

1994

George Smith, MD; University of Alabama

1993

R. Van Harrison, PhD; University of Michigan

1992

Martin P. Kantrowitz, MD; University of New Mexico

1991

Jack L. Mason, PhD; University of Maryland

1990

James C. Leist, EdD; Bowman Gray School of Medicine

1989

Robert J. Cullen, PhD; Case Western Reserve University



1988

D. Dale Dauphinee, MD; McGill University

1987

Dennis K. Wentz, MD; Vanderbilt University

1986

Harold A. Paul, MD; Rush Medical College

1985

Julian S. Reinschmidt, MD; Oregon Health Sciences University

1984

Oscar A. Thorup, MD; University of Virginia

1983

Gerald H. Escovitz, MD; Medical College of Pennsylvania

1982

George J. Race, MD; University of Texas, Dallas

1981

Richard M. Caplan, MD; University of Iowa

1980

Malcolm Watts, MD; University of California, San Francisco

1979

Gail Bank, PhD; Wayne State University

1978

Robert C. Combs, MD; University of California, Irvine

1977

Phil R. Manning, MD; University of Southern California

1976

Phil R. Manning, MD; University of Southern California



EARLY SACME HISTORY

Read about Past Presidents in these articles:

Caplan RM. <u>History of the Society of Medical College Directors of Continuing Medical</u> <u>Education (SMCDCME): The First Twelve Years, 1976-1988</u>. *JCEHP* 1996; 16(1):14-24. [PDF]

Manning PR. <u>A Look at the past as we anticipate and shape the future; Society</u> <u>celebrates 25th anniversary</u>. *INTERCOM* 2001; 14(2):6-7. [PDF]